Reviews

9.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
8.8
Property location
9.6
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.6
Value
8.6

Reviews

    JANET
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    12 April 2018

    Wonderful

    Loved the isolated jungle vibes about the place. The manager was very helpful and friendly. Great location overlooking the Río San Juan
    allison crowell
    ca

    Review score

    10
    7 April 2018

    Nirvana on the Rio San Juan

    Wi-Fi was only available in the reception area. Had to buy bottled water. Filtered water?
    Sabolos Lodge is a very unique place. We have been traveling in Nicaragua for 3 months and saved the best for last. We had the Tarzan Cabin for 4 nights. Within minutes of arriving we were overwhelmed by a sense of calm. The staff are very gracious and go out of their way to make your stay perfect. The neat thing about Sabolos Lodge is you can do nothing (look at the river) or do everything (lots of activities.
    pauline
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    9 March 2018
    The staff, position, accommodation and facilities were great, especially Ishmail. The food could have been more varied but was good nevertheless.
    Anniki
    ee

    Review score

    9.6
    1 March 2018
    Our room was nice and had river view. Staff was very helpfull and nice! Our tour guide Julio was great!
    ch

    Review score

    7.1
    15 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Eva
    nl

    Review score

    7.5
    18 January 2018

    High price for simple place

    Room couldn't be locked. We walked half an hour in the field and jungle because they did not inform us about boat pick up service. Highest price we've payed for a room in Nicaragua. Food was okay but really expensive as well ($12 for super simple plate)
    Beautifull garden and nice decorated rooms. Eye for detail. Staff was friendly
    Bsm
    nl

    Review score

    9.2
    12 January 2018

    Great lodges, Nice people

    The activities they ofer are expensive. The cacao trip is not worth the money.
    Nice lodges, great food(exept they put always the same rice and beans with it), they have a big forest you can visit any time, and the staf is great.
    Emily
    ni

    Review score

    10
    8 January 2018
    For people who haven't traveled much around Nicaragua, you might not enjoy the cold shower. I didn't mind it at all, but definitely don't expect a super fancy bathroom!
    The location is absolutely amazing! Resting in a hammock above the river is something I'll never forget. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel (just dinner, brought a few snacks with us which was a great idea) and really enjoyed the fish plate. The staff is excellent! We just got off the boat from San Carlos at Boca de Sabalos (you can also take the bus, but the boat is more fun) and called the hotel--they sent a panga to pick us up right away and take us to the hotel! Great place to relax, play some card games, and just enjoy the company you're with.
    Frank Jurrien
    se

    Review score

    8.8
    22 December 2017

    Cabins with stunning views

    We booked a small cabin which was only large enough for the bed and our two bags (when we put the small table next to the bed on the porch). There is enough space to sit on the porch, but there was only one hammock and two quite uncomfortable chairs. However, near the reception are more hammocks to relax and enjoy the view. Internet is only available at the reception and often dodgy, but that is not a surprise when you are in the jungle. If you come from Managua or Granada, we highly recommend booking an airplane or shuttle to San Carlos (the latter is available from $35), as the journey with chicken bus is long and uncomfortable.
    Fantastic view from the cabin onto the river. The surroundings are full of birds and howler monkeys and you will get a concert of them every morning and evening. At the lodge they can arrange tours to Indio Maiz or Boca Negra, or to other places such as a coffee plantation. The staff is helpful and nice. Food was good, and evening meals range from 9 to 12 dollars including a drink and desert, which is reasonable for Nicaraguan standards. The lodge has a short trail behind the cabins which you can scour for wildlife (the lodge has an impressive list of bird species sighted on and around the property).
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    26 October 2017

    Enjoyed our 2 night stay but left early due to no fans and feeling overheated!

    There were no fans in the lodges or anywhere on site (reception, dinning area) so no means to cool down in extreme heat. There were also no power sockets in the lodges but that was secondary as we could charge all of our electrical stuff in reception. Also when we booked in advance through booking.com it said it was the last lodge available but when we got there we were the only people there!! Lastly we arrived in San Carlos on a Sunday and were told we could take a panga on the river to the lodges but when we arrived they were full and were told we would have to wait til next day. I phoned the lodge and they were helpful in arranging private transport which ended up costing $60 instead of £9 for 2 people on the panga. I felt as if they should have known that Sunday’s were busy days and they could have booked us on as per our communication in advance.
    Beautiful place and well thought out with lush plants. The lodges were inside-outside living which needed a little adjusting initially. Food and staff were great.
    SARAH
    gb

    Review score

    10
    12 September 2017

    Luxury in the jungle

    The staff were lovely, also the owner when we called him with questions. The lodge was beautiful, very "wild", let's say "luxury in the middle of the jungle"
    Maartje
    nl

    Review score

    9.2
    11 September 2017

    Once in a lifetime experience

    Great hotel. This is an awesome experience. An open cabin with a great view at the river. You really feel like sleeping in the middle of the jungle. Lots of animals around. You wake up with the jungle sounds. The staff is also really nice. Good food. If you want an experience you will never forget, you should stay at this place. We stayed at the Tarzan cabin.
    Ellen
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    25 August 2017

    Fantastic!! 😃

    The only little thing dat we found less is the bed, for two big people it was a little narrow. 😊
    The staff were fantastic, the lodges overlooking the river were amazing! Everything was very clean and the food delicious!
    Evelien
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    31 July 2017

    Absolutely amazing!!!

    Food was quite pricy, but we already read about this so brought some bananas. We also discovered there are several 8 dollar dinner options (instead of 12 dollar what we thought).
    Beautiful location, from our hammock in our cabin we saw kolibris and other beautiful colourful birds! And supposedly there was a kaiman as well. Service was amazing!! We felt so welcome, staff was very friendly, their english was really good and they automatically picked us up at boca de sabalos for free (and saw a sloth in a tree on the way!). Good breakfast was included. We did the night tour and saw so many animals: sloths with baby, kaimans, big lizzards and a racoon. While it was a bit above our backpacker budget, staying at this lodge was absolutely worth it! Furthermore, we could check out at 2pm since there was no other reservation for the next day, really nice!
    Marjanne_a
    be

    Review score

    9.6
    1 May 2017

    Must see this place! Relax, enjoy, luxury in the middle of the jungle!

    Difficult to reach from the rest of the country. A pity the ferries don't go anymore! But it was definitely worth the travel!
    Amazing friendly staff, warm welcome with a fresh fruit juice. Very clean and cosy place, in the middle of the jungle! Nice place to swim, relax in the hammocks, go on one of the great tours with the lodge, have an amazing lunch/diner, hike through the jungle :) Great place for adventurous travelers who like to enjoy the nature sounds of monkeys, birds (hummingbirds and lots of others), ... We loved it! We booked 2 nights, but stayed for 2 more!
    Chris
    us

    Review score

    10
    30 April 2017

    Paradise on the River

    Sabalos Lodge may not be for everyone. This is an Eco lodge with a focus on sustainable tourism. Thus, the cabins are open air, with no air conditioning and no fans. The cabins are well lighted. I visited during the hottest part of the year. While it was always comfortable sleeping after dark, during mid - day you may want to relax and visit their little swimming spot on the river. Owing to a somewhat remote location, they probably won't stock your favorite imported brew or bottle of wine. The restaurant menu is limited in options, but always guaranteed to be delicious and the portions were more than I could eat at times. English - speaking tour guides are not always available on short notice. If this is an issue, I suggest letting the lodge know at the time of booking your stay will give them enough time to locate one for you. Getting to the lodge might be a challenge for some travelers. From San Carlos, at the mouth of the river, a two hour boat ride or bus ride is necessary. So, luxurious it is not, but peaceful, exciting, beautiful, full of adventure opportunities, photo opportunities and activities, it is.
    I loved it and can't wait to go back! My cabin was right on the river, so the view couldn't have been better. The bed was very, very comfortable, as was the hammock on the balcony. The bathroom was more than adequate, with a great shower. Every single staff member is warm, friendly, and goes out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. My cabin was cleaned daily, with shampoo and soap restocked as needed. As soon as the staff found out I get up early and like to take coffee before my morning walk, it was always available. I took several of the tours and was satisfied with each one. There is a walking trail in the forest on the grounds that I used every day. On this trail I saw Spider Monkeys, Sloths, Howler Monkeys, and innumerable bird and lizard species. Other than The Galapagos, I have never been to another area with such abundance and variety of wildlife. The resident dog, Pinto, is very sweet, loves to walk the trails with the guests and makes a good hiking companion. Common areas and communal dining offer good opportunities to meet and socialize with other guests, who may be from anywhere. Good Wi - Fi is available in the reception area, along with outlets to recharge your phones, etc. I want to mention a second time how great the staff is, they deserve the recognition. Best service and care in any place I've been.
    KEVIN
    ca

    Review score

    10
    17 March 2017

    Nicaragua at its best

    There was nothing not to like here. If your looking for a bit of Nicaraguan outdoors this is a great stop
    Ismael and staff were great/fishing day they organized for us was great and highly recommend renting the kayaks and going up the Sabalos River(lots of wildlife including monkeys and caymen(gators). Owner Raphael went out of his way to arrange our transport back to managua
    Brad
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    22 December 2017

    In the heart of the jungle, with a very comfy bed

    Wonderful feeling being on the river in the middle of the jungle Love hearing howler monkeys in. Morning and all the sounds of the birds and jungle at dusk
    chris
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    31 December 2016

    Spend a least one night here if you are heading down the Rio San Juan

    Noise (music & fireworks) from town disrupted the peaceful setting at times - we were there over Christmas.
    Awesome location on the river. Loved the cabins. We stayed in the family cabin which has 2 full beds. Food was basic Nica and very good. Staff was excellent especially Ismael and Charlene (?). We were the only people there for 2 nights and they really made our stay comfortable and interacted with our 5 year old very well. Got a ride to Sabalos with kayaks. Paddled up Sabalos river, ate lunch at Hotel Sabalos and paddled down the Rio San Juan back to Sabalos Lodge - a fun way to spend some time.